Set to Bring His “Empirical Truth” Record to Life

This Spring, Singer/Songwriter/Guitarist Mark Newman will be performing selections from his latest album “Empirical Truth” alongside many of the artists who played on the record – including Keyboardist Georgie Wood, Drummer Shawn Murray, Bassist Craig Privett, Vocalist Naomi Margolin and Violinist Tony Montalbo at venues throughout the New York region.

04/18 – Eric Clapton Tribute with Godfrey Townsend at The Space
04/21 – Songwriters Roundtable at KJ Farrell’s
04/23 – with Roger Street Friedman at My Father’s Place
04/30 – with Toby Tobias and Dave Christian at The Warehouse
08/07 – with the Almost Brothers at Jones Beach Bandshell

Mark Newman is a well travelled and in demand professional musician who has spent the better part of five decades playing with an eclectic mix of noted musical talents. His most recent offering, “Empirical Truth” was the 2019 Winner of The Long Island Blues Society Best Album Category and represented the NY area in competition at the International Blues Challenge in Memphis.

Listen to Empirical Truth on Spotify here:

A multi stringsman, Mark has mastered electric/acoustic/lap steel guitar as well as the mandolin and dobro. His musical prowess has taken him around the world several times over; working alongside many other soul, blues, and rock greats of our time including Jim McCarty (The Yardbirds), Willy DeVille (Mink DeVille), Sam The Sham, Bobby Whitlock (Derek and the Dominos) and Sam Moore (Sam & Dave). As part of some of these bands, Mark has shared the stage with stars from John Oates and Sting, to Elvis Costello and Travis Tritt. As an opening act, Mark has also played dates with Delbert McClinton, Les Dudek, The Doobie Brothers, Don Felder of The Eagles, David Bromberg and many others.

Packed with Newman’s usual penchant for dynamic storytelling and political commentary throughout his lyrics, Empirical Truth certainly lives up to its name. With songs ranging in topic from the state of gun control in the U.S. to the Dakota Access Pipeline, an innocent man blamed for murder, love and loss and even a few covers from Little Feat, John Oates, and more – the album is brimming with a dynamic mix of Americana/Blues/Pop and slide-guitar work from start to finish.

Empirical Truth Track Listing:

1. Scapegoat
2. Life Without You
3. Mississippi Mile
4. When I Aim My Gun
5. Seven Days
6. One More Song About A Highway
7. Sharin’ The Blues
8. Pipeline
9. Are You Lonely For Me
10. Everything You Know
11. Roll Um Easy
12. Lycanthropy

For More on Mark Newman, VISIT:
For Press Inquiries, CONTACT: